By 10th April 2014Uncategorised

Horror Writing Prize in memory of James Herbert is launched  

 ‘I didn’t plan to write horror; it just poured out of me’ James Herbert

To celebrate the life and career of one of the world’s best and most loved horror writers, Pan Macmillan and the estate of James Herbert have announced the launch of The James Herbert Award for Horror Writing.   

The announcement coincides with the fortieth anniversary of the first publication of The Rats for which Pan Macmillan will be releasing special anniversary paperback and collectors’ hardback editions in May and September respectively and which will contain an exclusive new introduction by Neil Gaiman. 

The prize, which will be awarded annually, aims to discover and publicise a new generation of horror authors working today and celebrate the boldest and most exciting talent in the genre.  The winning author will receive a cheque for £2,000 and a specially-designed commemorative statuette.

The inaugural award will be open to horror novels written in English and published in the UK and Ireland between 1st January 2014 and 31st December 2014. Entries should be submitted to Pan Macmillan via their online submission form available at by 1st October 2014.

James Herbert’s daughter, Kerry, will head up the panel of five judges whose names will be announced in the summer.
A shortlist of five novels will be announced in January 2015 with the winner announced at an awards ceremony in March 2015.
Eileen Herbert, James Herbert’s wife, says, “I was thrilled when Jeremy talked to me about this Award. Throughout his years as a storyteller Jim encouraged new and upcoming writers and I know he would be delighted and honoured that his name will continue this tradition.
“Thank you Pan Macmillan.”

Jeremy Trevathan, James Herbert’s long-time editor and Publisher, comments, “Whenever a giant in their field passes away it’s up to those left behind to find an appropriate way to mark the memory.  I’m so pleased that we will be remembering Jim in this way and I hope he would be happy and proud.”

Year one of the award will be overseen in partnership with the Serendip Foundation, the administrative organisation responsible for the Arthur C. Clarke Award.   Serendip will work closely with Pan Macmillan and the judging panel as neutral third party organisers to establish and promote the award and ensure transparency throughout.

Serendip Director Tom Hunter said: “Being asked to be involved with the inaugural James Herbert Award is a huge honour for Serendip and a personal pleasure for me as a long-time fan of James Herbert’s work. Serendip’s mission has always been to promote great books, and we welcome the opportunity to help launch a major new award in this way.”

For more information, please contact Liz Sich or Jane Acton at Four Colman Getty; 020 3697 4241/020 3697 4247;;

James Herbert

Notes to Editors
Submission forms and full details of Terms & Conditions are at

  1. The James Herbert Award is open to publishers established in the UK to submit any full-length horror novel for adults that is first published by them in the English language in the UK between 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2014 inclusive. Works which comply with that criteria are still eligible even if they may have been previously published in other territories whether in English or other languages.
  2. Works must be submitted by an eligible publisher and works are only eligible for entry if they are not self-published and/or the author has not contributed to the cost of publication. Entry is limited to submission of a maximum of three (3) works per eligible publisher imprint.
  3. Entries should be submitted for consideration by midnight on 1st October 2014.
  4. Entries must be registered online via
  5. In addition to online registration via the Website, publishers must submit a total of seven non-returnable print copies of each work in either publication version or advance proof. All copies must be sent to The James Herbert Award, Communications Dept., Pan Macmillan, 20 New Wharf Road, London, N1 9RR.
  6. Where digital copies of works are available these should also be submitted via the submission form in addition to the print copies to facilitate the judging process.
  7. Digital-only publications will be accepted subject to condition 2, and must be supplied in multiple e-reader formats including Mobi, ePub and PDF.
  8. Where a work is to be released in digital only format one year, and print the next, the publisher may choose which year to submit the work, but it can only be considered once.
  9. The shortlist of five authors will be announced in January 2015 with the winner shall be announced at an Award ceremony in March 2015.

Join the discussion No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.